Regional Planning Releases ATV Route and Trail Maps


Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission ATV Trail Map

Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission released the Southwestern Wisconsin ATV Route & Trail Maps. The detailed maps cover Grant, Richland, Iowa, Lafayette, and Green Counties in southwestern Wisconsin. The collaborative effort, coordinated by the SWWRPC, provides ATV/UTV operators, residents, and communities with detailed mapping information about ATV/UTV trail and route locations in the five-county region.

The SWWRPC Project makes the maps available online. The map collection includes a helpful five-county overview map and then more detailed individual maps for each county in the region.

ATV/UTV route ordinances must be approved by a Township or Municipality where the route is located—in general ATV/UTV routes are on roads and ATV/UTV trails are off-road. Those ordinances must then be sent to the DNR office in Madison.

If you have any questions about ATV/UTVs, please contact your local DNR wardens in Grant County—Joe Frost, Warden-Fennimore ((608) 723-2339) or Nicholas Wallor, Warden-Cassville ((608) 778-2465). For more general information on ATV/UTV operation and rules in Wisconsin, see the DNR Website dedicated to ATV/UTV issues. With questions about the ATV/UTV maps, please contact the Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission.